Overlooking the picturesque hidden harbour of Boscastle, the lookout was originally built in the early 1800's as a summer house by the local landowner Thomas Rickard Avery.
Later it was leased to the board of trade as a lookout to help prevent smuggling, and later used as a coastguard lookout up until the 1970's.
Recently, under National Trust ownership it has been maintained as a folly, until in 2002 it was leased by the National Trust to Boscastle NCI.
Following a lot of hard work by our volunteer, chippies, labourers, painters, electrician, fund raisers and trainers.
The station was officially opened in June 2003.