27th April 2019. The National Coastwatch Institution held the 2019 Annual General Meeting at the University of the West of England at Bristol this weekend, which was attended by representatives of many of the charity’s 54 stations.

After formally opening the meeting, Chairman Lesley Suddes presented a report detailing the achievements of the charity over the last twelve months before introducing Steve Ashby, the National Treasurer who presented the Statement of Accounts for the previous financial year. This was followed by a presentation by NCI Trustees Tim Colquhoun and Ian Whalley who outlined some of the plans for the National Coastwatch 25th Anniversary celebrations. After lunch, the meeting was given a presentation about the review of a new National financial model followed by an open forum that covered many diverse topics.

During the meeting, the Chairman also announced that Mike Byrne and Tim Colquhoun had been re-elected as Trustees. A vacancy on the Board of Trustee had been created when Deputy Chairman Blake Holt decided to stand down after ten years service as a Trustee and Clive Pouncey has been elected as a Trustee to fill the vacancy. On behalf of National Coastwatch, Lesley Suddes thanked Blake for his immense contribution to the charity and wished him well for the future.

The photograph (courtesy of Joanne Tasker) shows the Trustees (front row) and Station Representatives who attended the AGM.

back to news


Currently 56 NCI stations are operational and manned by over 2600 volunteers keeping watch around the British Isles from Fleetwood in the North West, through Wales, to the South and East of England to Hornsea in the East Riding of Yorkshire. 

NCI watchkeepers provide the eyes and ears along the coast, monitoring radio channels and providing a listening watch in poor visibility. They are trained to deal with emergencies offering a variety of skills and experience, and full training by the NCI ensures that high standards are met.








The words National Coastwatch Institution and Eyes Along the Coast and the NCI logos are Registered Trademarks of NCI.


General enquiries
0300 111 1202

Media enquiries
0845 460 1202

[email protected]

17 Dean Street, Liskeard,
Cornwall, PL14 4AB